A technical rehearsal

9 Feb

Well hello again

It was only this morning, but I really can’t remember if we Vvvvvv’d, Zzzzzzzz’d and Fffffffttttttt’d. I think I’d remember a Fffffttttt to be honest, but not too sure on the other 2. I do know (because I wrote it down) that we did another version of the Emu exercise with “Wa-be-doooo” and opening hands (or Emus if you prefer) on the pushes. We tried and tried and tried to get into sync so that we were all tightly together – right – left – right – left – left – left – right – oops. But frankly our brains had been melted by the early morning conundrum of mirroring Gary’s raised hands.

 

Now if he raises his right hand. I should raise my right? my left? Aaahhh they've started already!

Now if he raises his right hand. I should raise my right? my left? Aaahhh they’ve started already!

 

The discipline of this warm up helped with our choreography, and will allow us to fully show off our ‘Opening’ yes that does sound dodgy so I’ll leave it in.

Breathing in ‘Falling Slowly’ we practised, so sound like Yoda we do not.

We went over the ‘Lion King’ fat chants, which could soon be renamed slim chants as our ‘Busa le lizwe bo’ lines are definitely getting better. At one point, after about the 100th repetition, we we able to put the books down and do it NBH (nearly by heart). That feels like real progress, so now just to sort out the earlier lines of when the sun rises and when it shines.

 

hA78B3288

 

Then ‘Brand New Day’ with some repetition to help us learn the words. This has been slowed down as it was previously faster than Usain Bolt, so it will be slightly easier to spit the words out. Some new choreography has been added, and as a tribute to Usain we now get to strike his famous pose. Let’s hope we can keep it together for the concert!

 

Pull back the lightning bolt arrow, and do a cheeky wave on brand new day.

Pull back the lightning bolt arrow, and do a cheeky wave on brand new day.

 

Today’s was a technical rehearsal, which must have pleased the hi-tech Soprano and her Ipad Brillo. I spotted another Ipad so feel the bar has been set. The technology race is now on and I fully expect the Sopranos to be downloading the words to screens built into their glasses (spectacles not wine) by next week.

 

Anyway speaking of wine, I think I just might.

It’s been a full on day so I need to take a break now.

See you on Wednesday!

Lorraine xx

Leave a Reply

