Vowels, tights and snowmen

17 Nov

Hi everyone

This week was a technical rehearsal to tidy up all the little twiddly bits that we don’t yet know. We started with our regular warm up to work on our vowels, copying Gary from ‘Ah Ah’ and ‘Or Or’ to the now obligatory impersonation. Do you know which one I mean?

 

Nor nor nor nor nor. Haven't got a clue.

Nor nor nor nor nor. Haven’t got a clue

 

As soon as we moved on to the introduction of ‘Let it snow’ our vowels went sideways (I hate it when that happens in public). Sorr-eeeeee Gary but it’s really hard for a load of Geordies not to say ‘eeeeeee’. We sang bars 7 and 8 ‘he’s a sorry sight to see’ back to one another to try to work out who had the best diction. The men lost 😉

 

He's a soggy sight to see.

He’s a soggy sight to see

 

Next was ‘Christmas Day’ which is a bit of a challenge for us altos, and it’s the one I find myself yodelling to the most. Gary told us this song was based on a poem called ‘Christmas Bells by Longfellow’ (if you click on the link it will give you some background information). That was probably the only piece of useful information you have gleaned in the 3 years I have been writing this blog. I don’t know what came over me, so best go back to some general silliness and muddling of words.

We sang ‘Christmas Day’ line by line trying to make the words stick. We sang it a few times with books and then without. We managed ‘Christmas Day is here and so are we, time for Children and presents and Christmas tree happiness’ but when it came to the next verse we couldn’t decide between  ‘lights’ and ‘time’ and so another muddled line was born.

 

Christmas Day is all that it should be tights and carols and holly and all kinds of loveliness

Christmas Day is all that it should be tights and carols and holly and all kinds of loveliness

 

It’s nice though that we’ve now got some Christmas Day tights from this concert to go with the sandals in the window from last year’s 🙂

Gary gave us a request to check our music which had me a bit confused, as I thought it sounded like something taken from Countdown.

 

"Next I'll have the last verse of The First Noel please"

“Next I’ll have the last verse of The First Noel please”

 

I eventually found the last verse of ‘The First Noel’, or it might have been the first verse of ‘Last Christmas’ – I’m that easily confused. I was even more confused later in ‘Snow’ when we had to take it from the word ‘snow’. I really need to concentrate on both ‘Snow’ songs so they come naturally to me, and then I’ll be able to go with the flow.

 

How I'm longing to ski through the snow

How I’m longing to ski through the snow

 

I’ve heard that snow is supposed to be forecast for this week. It’s an accurate forecast and must be true, because the woman on the checkout at Morrisons told me. I’d rather have snow than ice though, as I couldn’t bear the shame I had last year of clinging on to a postbox and having to be rescued from an icy pavement. So fingers crossed the only snow I encounter is in my music and the only ice I hit is bobbing around in a glassful of Baileys.

There’s only 3 weeks left to the concert for me to know my ‘Snow’ from ‘Snow’. This term is absolutely flying by and before we know it’ll be Christmas Day.

 

With carrots and holly and all kinds of loveliness

With carrots and holly and all kinds of loveliness

See you all next week and happy word learning.

Who knows I might be able to ski by then.

Lorraine xx

Leave a Reply

