A home alone rehearsal

23 Nov

Hi everyone

Just a short post this week because I missed choir rehearsal on Wednesday. My back has been painful again, so I stayed in and had a rehearsal on my own. There were no weird warm ups, no Upstairs Downstairs changes (I live in a bungalow), and best of all no queue for the loo. Seeing as I seem to have lost my choir mojo a bit and as there’s only 2 weeks left to the concert, I thought I better knuckle down and get on with learning some words.

 

I'm getting on better with snow now

I’m getting on better with snow now

 

Not only did I learn some words – snow, hallelujah, snow and snow – but I also found a new note. A note which I don’t think I’ve ever sung before in my life (well this term let’s not exaggerate too much). It’s so elusive that I’ve managed to lose it again as I look through my file to write about it. It’s not that it’s high, rather that it is totally different to what I had been singing. Anyway this note is in ‘Snow’ just before and after the word ‘snow’. Are you having trouble with it too?

 

That elusive note is in 'Snow' by Berlin bar 86

Oops I’ll explain further. My elusive Alto 2 note is in ‘Snow’ by Berlin – bar 86

 

I’ll be back at choir next week and hopefully will be singing that note correctly. I think Berlin ‘Snow’ is the most difficult one to learn, as it’s fast and the voice parts are all over the place (I don’t know how to musically describe the ins of oots of each voice part sorry). I always forget the bit about seeing a mountain covered in a quilt of snow too.

I’ll have to stop making excuses and plug myself into my iPod. There’s nothing like a bit of good old brainwashing to make those words stick.

 

Brainwashing: 'Snow' by Newman. Snow-ow fills the fields I used to know

Brainwashing: ‘Snow’ by Newman.
Snow-ow fills the fields I used to know

 

Brainwashing: Happy Holiday plus dancing in the rest bars 29 & 33.

Brainwashing: Happy Holiday plus dancing in the rest bars 29 & 33.

 

Brainwashing: Hallelujah. Hallelujah

Brainwashing: Hallelujah. Hallelujah

See you all next week for the penultimate rehearsal. I promise to write about singing next week 😉

Best of luck to everyone singing in the Leeds Echo concert tonight. It’s a busy night as Newcastle Inspiration will also be singing this evening (7.30pm) at St Mary’s Cathedral, Newcastle upon Tyne, in aid of The People’s Kitchen.

Have fun!

Lorraine xx

Leave a Reply

