Do you wanna sing an earworm?

3 Oct

Hi everyone

Well this is weird. It’s my 1st blog post of 2014 and the year is almost over. I can’t believe it’s nearly Christmas already, but here we are in our 2nd week of rehearsals. Just to confuse things further I missed last week’s rehearsal, thus the reason it’s my 1st and not 2nd post of 2014. Anyway back to business.

I’ve missed a few concerts, so it’s lovely to be Bach back singing. It took me a little while to get my bearings. Over the year I’d missed out on exciting trips like New York, I wasn’t up to speed on any of the gossip, and to top it all I didn’t even know if I was an upstairs or a downstairs lady.

 

Most definitely downstairs. M'dear.

Most definitely downstairs M’dear.

 

Gary wasn’t very well this week and was unable to take the rehearsal. This meant not only no Gary, but of course no Gary Bingo. Let’s hope he’s feeling better now and he’s fighting fit for next week.

So Mark took the rehearsal on his own – piano playing and conducting too. He’s very clever isn’t he? He was unbooted and ready for us in his socks (not just his socks of course, but you know what I mean). After a few quick warm ups we were straight into ‘Frozen’, which it seems Mark is now really into. He knows all the words and has seen it a thousand times.  We all know Mark loves a bit of Disney chanting and weird words, so he relished showing us our first ‘Frozen’ challenge.

It might sound like Geordie, but it isn’t – ‘na’. It’s actually from a Norwegian Hymn, I bet you didn’t know that before – ‘na na na hey……. ya na’. Here’s a YouTube video of it, just say ‘No-a’ if you don’t want to watch it, but if ‘ah na hey yu’ then you probably will right ‘nu wa na’.

 

 

Then we were introduced to some new earworms, which are both in ‘Frozen’ – ‘Do you wanna build a snowman’ and later in ‘Let it go’. So that’s what we’ll all be kept awake with for the next month or so. Mind you saying that I couldn’t get ‘Pure Light’ out of my head today. I found myself humming the ‘Pure Light’ tune at work, which is a bit of shame seeing as I couldn’t remember it in the rehearsal. Don’t you just hate it when that happens!

There was an Inspiration first in the break when the queue for the auditions was longer than the queue for the toilet.

 

The queue for the ensemble auditions

The queue for the ensemble auditions

 

We sorted out some of the key changes in ‘Pure Light’ and have at least found an excuse if we are discordant -“hey it’s close enough for jazz” which can of course be followed up with a confident ‘Hey ya, na ya No-a’.

In the last Carol of the night I couldn’t get the words out quick enough, so forever in my mind it will be ‘God Rest You Gerry, Mentalmen’. Mark taught us some new musical terms and checked our pulse was ok. But he couldn’t decide if we were a car crash or a clash in parts.

That’s all from me for this week. I’ve downloaded the mp3s to my phone and the CD is in my car, and so begins the word learning. I might even get my highlighters out next week, not that it helps me to remember I just still really like colouring things with fluorescent pen.

See you next week. Happy word learning!

Lorraine x

 

 

8 Responses to “Do you wanna sing an earworm?”

  1. Sue Maughan October 3, 2014 at 8:11 pm #

    Hurrah! Lorraine’s blog is back!

  2. Viv Hall October 3, 2014 at 8:44 pm #

    Great to see you back Lorraine – missed you and your clever insights!! Loved your comments re. Frozen especially having lived in Norway for a year (many, many moons ago). One of the first phrases I learned was (sic) Yay ganna yem (Ah’m gannin yem (home)) Euraka I thought – they speak my language, ha ha. Us Geordies really have no excuse not to pick the beginning of this song up!! Looking forward to future blogs – keep up the good work girl.

    • singingalto2 October 3, 2014 at 8:52 pm #

      Thanks Viv. I was glad to find the hymn on YouTube, I wrote the name of it down when Mark mentioned it. It’s going to sound great isn’t it! Xx

  3. bob gladwin October 4, 2014 at 2:42 pm #

    Hi Lorraine Welcome back – I have so missed your blogs and highly amusing anecdotes. Where on earth have you been?You missed the New York trip which was amazing and included(as you will doubtless have heard all about) a performance at Carnegie Hall ( with the ghosts of Sinatra and Streisand very aparent) songs in Central Park and a show on Broadway of the Lion King which the majority slept through. Keep the blogs coming please as I really enjoy them as I’m sure we all do. Kindest regards Bob Gladwin Date: Fri, 3 Oct 2014 19:49:31 +0000

    • singingalto2 October 4, 2014 at 3:06 pm #

      Hi Bob. I had to miss a few concerts after having a small op on my back. But now I’m back and will keep writing about the rehearsals. I’ll look out for you on Wednesday to hear all about New York. The videos and photos showed it was a marvellous experience. Lorraine

  4. Cynthia October 4, 2014 at 8:44 pm #

    Brilliant Lorraine, great to have your blog back and great to have you back with Inspiration x

  5. Linda Duckworth October 8, 2014 at 12:23 pm #

    Hi Lorraine Great to see you and your Blog are back. Thanks for sending it to me. Linda

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

