Week 3 – Perky do dos and perky don’ts

6 Oct

Hi everyone

How nice it is to be back singing on a Wednesday night. It’s lovely to see you all, because it’s been ages hasn’t it? It’s taken until week 3, but I’m getting back into it now and thought I would write a quick blog post. A few of you have kindly asked about it, so here it is.

 

yes

Blogging is back again … YES

 

That singy ningy thingy was a new weird warm up. It was to get the holes in your head buzzing or something. After many failed attempts I think I managed it. The faces we were pulling and the resulting “ning——gah” sounds were certainly not for public consumption though.

Singing ‘Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer’ brought back some memories. Unfortunately they were mainly of the tune, which as an alto I wasn’t meant to be singing. It’s so difficult to sing something you know so well so differently. It’s a bit like those numbers in the file which have (2016) in the title, they strike fear into my heart. But to distract me from getting dragged into the tune there was the return of an old friend. Yes the first appearance of the perky do dos made us all laugh.

 

1267795272_granny_boob_shake

It’s supposed to be a perky shake of the head, please keep practising

 

We first did the perky do dos in the 2011 and if you fancy a step back in time you can read about it here. That was the year we all got overcome with emotion holding a tea-light in ‘Let There Be Peace On Earth’, not the year of the sweaty clapper as I originally thought.

Anyway back to Christmas 2016. Whilst note bashing the do dos there was a lovely solo from one of the sopranos, which Gary described as “wrong on every level”. He’s mean isn’t he, but he gets away with it. Like when we were hiding angelically behind our bushes in ‘Merry Christmas, Merry Christmas’ he described that as “butch”.

 

old_lady_with_Margarita

Butch! S’merely a matter of reason

 

I like singing ‘Somewhere In My Memory’ but I always think it should start with the word ‘somewhere’, which unfortunately means I end up singing – “Ssss…Sandals in the window”.  It makes me laugh every time, but it’s not very professional.

There’s a few to learn ‘by heart’ for next week, which means I’ll have to go in for some brainwashing. Playing the tracks over and over again, until they’re so stuck they wake me up in the middle of the night. This Wednesday’s ear-worm was ‘For To Us A Child Is Born’ and in my head it was my poor attempts at reaching the high notes.

I’ve got concerns about managing my way through the long ‘everyone’ at the end of ‘God Bless Us Everyone’. I think we’ll have to sing it in shifts, I’ll do the first two bars ok but will be heaving for breath after that.

 

tumblr_m8r4xyPKB61r51c64.gif

This might help you count the final ‘everyone’ in ‘God Bless Us’ from Bar 111 to Bar 3500 (approx.)

 

shake-head

Do Do Do

See you all next week.

Happy listening to the rehearsal tracks.

May your brainwashing be plenty, but your ear-worms be few.

Lorraine x

opera_woman

Ms Perky Doo Doo

4 Responses to “Week 3 – Perky do dos and perky don’ts”

  1. suepook October 6, 2016 at 6:00 pm #

    Great to see you back blogging again Lorraine!

  2. Clare October 7, 2016 at 7:35 am #

    Lovely to have you back. Clare

    Sent from my iPad

  3. Linda Duckworth October 7, 2016 at 3:43 pm #

    Thanks Lorraine – good to see you back

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. Christine Monks October 8, 2016 at 12:42 pm #

    SOOooo wish I could be in it!! I’ve become a dancing Chef on the Polar Express instead.

Leave a Reply

