Tweak Week

3 Dec

Hi

Well already it’s the penultimate rehearsal, where has the time gone. We started rehearsals working on our support and practising diaphragmatic breathing with some ‘Vvvvt’ exercises. I struggled with where to feel (on myself) to check I was doing it right. I obviously wasn’t, because at one point all I could feel was the underside of my bra wire. My alto pal next to me was having the same kind of problems, so we had a bit of a snigger about that.

 
Pretending to be the opera singer from the cartoon Tom and Jerry produced better results, and I was able to feel the difference. I find if I’m not using my support correctly, in the high notes it goes up into my throat and gives me a croaky voice. This is one of the reasons I’ve had to skip some numbers whilst singing in the car, and probably why I know some better than others. After a morning commute with ‘For To Us A Child Is Born’ I turn up to work with a voice somewhere between Hilary Devey from Dragon’s Den and Coronation Street’s Phyllis Pearce. So I stick to what I know and stay low.

Once fully supported we did some lovely ‘amens’ from ‘The Lord Bless You and Keep You’. We did this a few times to make them stick, although at one point the ‘amens’ got a bit chaotic and were compared to be cries of Animal the drummer in The Muppets. Remember him?

AH..MEN

 
We boldly sang through ‘The 12 Days of Christmas ‘ without books (correct Alto part optional). We high-fived each other and whooped at the end, not only because we survived it but because it wasn’t too bad. Marks on a scale of Lords a-leaping to a partridge in a pear tree, was about a maid a-milking.

This being tweak week we worked on lots of little bits, and fixed oohs and aahs as we went. Some numbers such as ‘Hark the Herald Angels Sing’ and ‘O Come O Come Emmanuel’ were left alone for fear of flooding through incessant hanky wringing.

Tweak week has given me some points to twerk work on. Not too many so I’m quite chuffed with that. Although I’m finding the verses in ‘O Come O Come Emmanuel’ really difficult to learn, anyone else finding this?

See you all next week for the last rehearsal.

Keep twerking – you’ll definitely need support for doing that 😜.

Lorraine x

Ps. Who’s bringing Christmas goodies for concert day? Mince pie for breakfast anyone? Mince pie for break, ooh and for lunch too don’t mind if I do.

4 Responses to “Tweak Week”

  1. Cynthia Hall December 3, 2016 at 7:19 pm #

    Great as always Lorraine X

  2. Christine Monks December 8, 2016 at 12:20 pm #

    I’m so missing the choir. You give me such a giggle when I read your blog. I’m doing the polar Express as the oldest Dancing Chef for my sins and missing all the lovely carols and fun at my church too. Hope one day to get back as an Alto 2

    • singingalto2 December 8, 2016 at 1:37 pm #

      Hope you get back to singing soon. But in the meantime, enjoy the Polar Express! That sounds as much fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

